Region 8 Committee Meeting
of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
1-3 April 2022, Warsaw, Poland

Event website:
QWED was happy to serve as partner of the IEEE Region 8 Committee Meeting in Warsaw on 1-3 April 2022. We assisted the IEEE Poland Section in local organisers’ efforts and promoted our research and societal activities during the event:

QWED’s exhibition stand  run by Janusz Rudnicki and Lukasz Nowicki featured H2020 NanoBat and M.ERA-NET ULTCC6G_EPac projects, QuickWave simulation software, and QWED’s instruments for microwave material measurements.

QWED was also exhibiting on behalf of the IEEE Poland Section Women in Engineering AG, where QWED’s Malgorzata Celuch and Marzena Olszewska-Placha serve as board members. The WiE stand paid special attention to the war in Ukraine, presenting the appeal of the IEEE Poland Section, which condemns Russia’s barbarian assault. Our special guest was Dr. Mariya Antyufeyeva,  IEEE Ukraine Section Secretary and refugee,  whose appalling videos and slides were also being replayed in a loop. The WiE stand also promoted relevant publications of the Karta Foundation (also on Facebook) such as a recent book "A Century of Women: To Hear Yourself"  and a trilogy "The Freedom Relay", which recounts the interrelated historical and contemporary endeavours in the pursuit of freedom which began in Poland and went on to reverberate in Ukraine and Belarus.

Dr. Malgorzata Celuch gave a plenary presentation of QWED’s 25-years path from IEEE-recognised scientific achievements to products successful in IEEE-relevant industries. The presentation was also being displayed in a loop at the event registration desk.

Prof. Adam Dabrowski (IEEE PS Chair), Dr. Mariya Antyufeyeva (IEEE Ukraine Section Secretary – refugee), Magda Kornacka and Izabela Kotapska (Karta Foundation), Yulia Antufeyeva (refugee), Prof. Marek Jasinski (IEEE PS Member of Board -  event coordinator), Dr.Malgorzata Celuch (IEEE PS WiE Vice-Chair), Prof. Jozef Modelski (former IEEE Region 8 Director and MTT-S President).